Back to the main page of this blog The Podcast Network Website
Want to host your own show on TPN?

This Podcast Has Been Banned

I am not sure if this is a claim to fame or not. It at least makes us infamous, maybe. We are not that ominous I don’t think. We will have to work on our image… This tool will test your URL against the “Great Firewall of China” to see if it has been blocked. Yes we are blocked. No surprise there!

Your URL is blocked!

So there you have it. Our numerous mentions of China and their blocking of Internet content, not to mention our hacks for circumventing their firewall have probably contributed to this state of affairs. But at least we can put it on our resume.

But don’t worry we have found a hack! As it turns out for some strange DNS mumbo-jumbo the alternate URL of http://globalgeek.thepodcastnetwork.com is not blocked. So use that one if you are in China!

I think that might be because it is a sub-domain of TPN. But that again amazes me, there is plenty of content on the network that I am sure the Chinese government would be none too happy with. I was thinking is that the primary domain we use: http://globalgeekpodcast.com is the one that we advertise and market in other places. So it is better known and available. Which might have contributed to it being blocked. We will have to work harder to get both blocked…

So anyone else want to join the club? To find out if your URL is blocked by China visit the Great Firewall of China test page and run the test yourself. You can even bitch about the results by starting a discussion about it.

Great Wall of China

Subscribe to TPN :: The Global Geek Podcast by Email

Plus don’t forget to Check Out the Latest Show!

Via: Technically Speaking

5 Responses to “This Podcast Has Been Banned”

  1. knightwise Says:

    I guess its doctor evils fault !

  2. Podcast Junky Says:

    Cool! I’m blocked too :-) Glad to know I’m in great company!

    Great shows as always guys!

    Kind regards

    Podcast Junky

  3. Michael Specht Says:

    My site is available, kool! Strangely enough Cam’s URL is blocked :-)

  4. Tony Says:

    Is anyone surprised Cam’s URL is blocked though :P

  5. knightwise Says:

    Amazing ! http://www.knightwise.com is available !

Leave a Reply

Check Spelling
Activate Spell Check while Typing